About the picture above….

For me, running started about a year ago when my husband and I decided to run a half marathon. Thinking, of course, that’s not that far! The novice in me not realizing that there was all sorts of great websites to research, we set out on our own “training” schedule. My longest run before the half marathon was 8 miles. During my training last year, I was also battling IBS-C (and I continue to, but it as gotten better). Anything further than 3-4 miles sent me to bed feeling very sick. I can especially remember the sickness after the 8 mile run. We geared up anyhow and ran the half marathon in September 2012. I finished just under 3 hours with my husband holding my hand. Literally, he had to drag me across the finish line, as my legs gave out after mile 9.

That being said, I am DETERMINED at this year’s half marathon (same half in September) to finish stronger. I have been adamantly reading running blogs for the past couple months and they have greatly inspired me. I feel I know LOADS more now than at this point last year. I honestly thought I would give up running after completing the half last year. I was so sick after running that I almost did give up. However, my desire to run lead me to really look at my diet and how it was affecting my body not only after running, but day to day. I have dealt with IBS-C since 2008. After numerous disappointing doctor appointments and seeing a dietician, I realized this is my own battle to conquer. After all, who knows my body better than me, right? I read every IBS book I could get my hands on and I finally feel a sense of control. I no longer feel it’s not up to me whether I feel good or bad. I have running to thank for that!

What I have found that works for me is a low FODMAP diet (which my dietician had never heard of…disappointing visit to say the least). Since following a mostly low FODMAP diet, my random stomach pains at night have ceased and I feel so much more in control of my body. Pain after running has also, for the most part, subsided. For me, it’s a combination of eating the right foods for my body and making sure I’m not constipated (i.e., the big “C” in IBS-C). Since I started the change in March I have not only felt better, but I have fallen in love……with running! It’s such a rush during race day, something I don’t feel at any other point in my life right now. I also relish in the individual  accomplishments I reach after each run. “I did it!” is such a great feeling.

“If you do what you’ve always done, you’ll get what you’ve always gotten.”
running2
3 thoughts on “About the picture above….

  1. Oh wow, I have IBS – (predominant C) also and it is so so frustrating . I’ve other issues as well, so its more complicated and exercise is nonexistent. I’m physically and mentally at low low low. Good luck to u.

    • It’s so frustrating! You really lose your sense of control over your body. I continue to have to take Miralax everyday and have for the past 5 years. It was especially frustrating year after year not seeing any change. The GI doc told me to eat 30g of fiber a day. I was eating whole wheat breads, fruits, beans, and artificial means of fiber (metamucil, high fiber bars) just to get to 30g a day. Looking back, it hurt me more than it helped. I was eating many foods high in FODMAPs because they were high in fiber. It’s been difficult finding FODMAP friendly foods and getting enough fiber each day. I usually have to stick to the same foods that I know are safe. Oatmeal, raspberries, bananas, prunes, chia seeds, GF wraps/breads. I kept a food journal when I started the elimination diet for 6 weeks and I will periodically keep a food journal now to track my fiber intake. It also helps ID any foods that may be triggers. I also was taking so much laxative that when I ran, I would have the opposite problem. That’s where much of my stomach pain came from and almost lead me to give up running. A balance was and still is difficult to achieve. I wish you luck. Unfortunately, as I’m sure you know, it’s such an individual problem.

Leave a Reply

