DIY Race Medal Holder

I have been perusing Etsy for a race medal holder. My medal (only one for now, but you just wait :)) was hanging over a coffee cup in our kitchen cupboard. Kind of random, but the cupboard has glass doors so I can see it inside. While Etsy has some great designs, I can’t stomach paying that much for shipping. So, I set out to make my own. I had an idea of what I wanted to make and started with Gordmans, since they tend of have random items and I happen to have a 20% off coupon. I was originally looking for something along the lines of knobs on a coat rack . Luckily, I ended up finding this awesome board with small clothes clips. Perfect to attach my bibs! It has a chalkboard on the top. I love that I can change the saying if I want. I plan on hot gluing my timing chips around the chalkboard. My husband helped me drill small holes in the side for the hooks, and walaa! I made my very own race medal holder.

Here’s a breakdown of what I bought:

  • small screw hooks in gold- $1 at Walmart
  • rustic message board- $12.00 with coupon at Gordmans
  • colored chalk- $.47 at Walmart
Image

Holder without medals so you can see the hooks.

Image

Holder with medals hanging

I love how it turned out! Now to find the perfect place to hang it!

One thought on “DIY Race Medal Holder

  1. Pingback: Weekend Roundup | grab your kicks

Leave a Reply

