Tuesday Tastes

There are so many great products out there that coincide with healthy living. I try to eat real food the majority of the time, but I also love finding and trying new eats and treats! Here are some of my favorite recent finds:

1) Funky Monkey Freeze Dried Fruit

FM

The deets:

  • Gluten free
  • 100% Real Fruit
  • No added sugar
  • Vegan
  • Peanut/tree nut free

My thoughts: These have a great crunchy texture and are very flavorful. I’ve tried the Carnaval Mix (including freeze dried bananas, pineapple, apple, and papaya) and the Bananamon  (bananas with cinnamon) varieties. I was thinking these would be great to fuel with during a run as well. They obviously have natural sugar for a much needed boost. I like them more than regular dried fruit because of the crunch factor.

Where can I find these? I found these snacks as a recent new item at Walmart. You can also buy them online from their site, Amazon, and Target.

2) Snapea Crisps

SC

The deets:

  • Good source of fiber (3g per serving)
  • Made from 60% whole peas
  • Low sodium (65 mg per serving)

My thoughts: I am in love with these! I randomly found them nestled in by the produce at Walmart. They come in Caesar, Lightly Salted, Black Pepper, and Wasabi Ranch varieties. I have tried the Caesar kind and they are becoming one of my favorite new snacks. They taste light and crunchy. Harvest Snaps also make Lentil Snaps which sound tasty.

Where can I find these? I’ve only found them at Walmart. After a quick search on their website, it looks like the main carrier is Walmart or you can find them online.

3) Blue Diamond Almonds

These are not “new”, but the flavors are a more recent addition to the Blue Diamond Almonds line.

Almonds

The deets:

  • 3g fiber per serving
  • Um, they’re delicious? Need I say more?

My thoughts: I like my sweets. I blame my mom for giving me her sweet tooth. I try to limit the amount of sugar I eat (makes a huge difference in notable breakouts on my skin). I currently have the coconut, strawberry, and dark chocolate varieties in my cupboard. The strawberry almonds are good, but a little sweet by themselves. I like the throw them in greek yogurt, with chex cereal, or on a salad. On their own, I prefer the dark chocolate variety. I have not tried the blueberry or raspberry kinds yet, but they also sound good. Overall, very tasty and help to reach my fiber goals every day.

Where can I find these: At your local grocery store, Walmart, Target, they’re everywhere!!

4) Skippy Natural Creamy Peanut Butter with Dark Chocolate 

Look at that luxurious, dark brown chocolately goodness. YUM!

PB

The deets:

  • 60% less sugar per serving than Nutella Hazelnut spread
  • 2g fiber per serving
  • 8g of sugar per serving

My thoughts: Love at first sight! It’s creamy and indulges my sweet tooth. I love it mostly in green smoothies. It’s also great on toast with cinnamon sprinkled on top. Peanut Butter & Co makes a Dark Chocolate Dreams that sounds very similar that I would like to try and compare.

Where can I find it?: I bought my 26.5 oz container at Walmart. A couple times I’ve gone there they have been out of it, so it must be popular. Others have discovered the goodness!

Recipe, please:

Nikki’s Favorite Green Smoothie

  • Big handful of spinach
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 1 T Skippy Natural PB with Dark Chocolate
  • 3/4 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 to 3/4 of a frozen banana
  • Sprinkle of cinnamon

Blend and enjoy!

This smoothie after a run is half the reason I hit the pavement!

Question: What are your favorite new eats and treats??

Leave a Reply

