centergy & we had a storm

Started my day with an awesome Centergy class at my local gym. I fell in love with this class when I first started 3 months ago. I look forward to going every Sunday and Wednesday morning. Centergy is from the Body Training Systems programs and is a blend of yoga and pilates. There are different routines set to music  including warm up, salutations, challenge, balance, core back/front, hips, spirals, and folds. For the last 5 minutes of the class, you lay on your mat with the lights off. It’s HEAVEN! So refreshing to not think or move for those 5 minutes. I wasn’t sure it would be much of a workout before I tried it, but the working tracks leave me sweaty and the restore tracks do wonders for my tight hips.

centergy

Yesterday I got a 5 mile run in. I usually stick to running on the road or on a paved trail by my house. I did some exploring and found an awesome little gem of a trail. Who knew?

trail run

It was mostly an uphill battle so I was good and sweaty by the time I made it home. I noted several things I should’ve thought about prior to my run: 1) I  ran in the middle of the day=hot mess 2) I wore a hat=hot mess under my hat 3) My route was mostly up hill= normally good, not on a humid day though. On the bright side, I saw two deer on the trail and I’m a sucker for beautiful scenery 🙂

A baking element went out in our oven, so we’re down to the grill and the stove for cooking. I grilled portabella mushrooms last night. Tonight might be a different story, as a storm came through last night and tipped our grill over on our brick patio. It’s a little bruised and broken right now. Hurricane force winds, couldn’t have told us that before we went to bed, huh? My cilantro plant somehow survived even though it’s not in a pot. Can’t live without my cilantro.

2013-08-06 17.50.42

My grilled portabella salad was delicious! I marinated the portabella caps with Newman’s Own Low Fat Basalmic Vinegar which gives it delicious, juicy flavor. I usually throw whatever veggies I have in the fridge in my salad. Last night I added cucumber, tomato, avocado, feta, sunflower seeds, and fresh cilantro. Yum!

Question: Have you tried any new workouts lately? Any that surprised you, whether easier/harder than you were anticipating?

One thought on “centergy & we had a storm

  1. Pingback: WIAW #1 | grab your kicks

Leave a Reply

