WIAW #1

My first edition of What I Ate Wednesday! Thanks to Jenn at Peasandcrayons for hosting!

Breakfast consisted of a Kinnikinnick GF Mulitgrain toast spread with Smucker’s natural chunky peanut butter, pumpkin butter I picked up at Wood Orchard Market in Door County last weekend, and cinnamon. This is one of my staple pre-run fuels {And coffee, of course!}. Sometimes I’ll add dehydrated or fresh banana to the top as well.

2013-08-21 06.35.47

Got in a sweaty 5 mile run this morning while it was still cloudy. The picture is a little blurry because it is a STEAMY one out there today.

2013-08-21 07.36.21

After my run, I went to Centergy. I’m really going to miss being able to go in the mornings once I start back at work next week. It’s a great way to start the day!

GP-APR13

I was asked to think about becoming certified to teach! I said YES!

After workout refuel consisted of my favorite green monster smoothie.

Dark Chocolate PB Spinach Smoothie

  • handful of spinach and/or kale
  • 1/2 a frozen banana
  • 1 TB Skippy Dark Chocolate Natural PB
  • 1 TB chia seeds
  • 3/4 cup Almond Breeze Vanilla Almond milk
  • Couple shakes of cinnamon

2013-08-21 10.08.11

I have been craving veggies lately! Ask my husband, we’ll plan certain meals and then I’ll end up thinking a salad with lots of veggies sounds good. Last night I put together this delish salad for dinner. It included shredded chicken made in the crock pot, shredded carrots, cucumber, blueberries, sunflower seeds, and Bolthouse Farms creamy yogurt honey mustard dressing.

2013-08-20 18.58.30-1

When I first started implementing a low FODMAP diet I needed something to replace the granola bars I was eating. I wasn’t sure if gluten or wheat was necessarily a problem, but I wanted to follow the elimination diet for at least 6 weeks to find out. Because of this, I needed a replacement for the granola bar I would eat between breakfast and lunch. I found a recipe for healthy cookies via Skinnytaste and have been making batches of them ever since. They are SO simple and easy to make. My twist on the cookies is to add 1/4 c. of mini chocolate chips and lots of cinnamon. I most recently tried adding 1/4 c. of Skippy Dark Chocolate PB to the mix and they turned out great! YUM.

2013-08-19 16.09.13

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

What have you been eating lately? Any new recipes you’d like to share?

One thought on “WIAW #1

  1. Pingback: Green Monsters and Veggies Galore | grab your kicks

Leave a Reply

