WIAW #2

Hope you’re off to wonderful Wednesday! I’ve made the transition back to work and I’m still alive! I am the kind of person who loves and needs a consistent routine, so going back to work isn’t so bad. It has been great to see all my coworkers again. I work with some amazing people who truly care about the success and well being of the kids in their class. Woohoo for teachers!!

Today’s post is What I Ate Wednesday numero dos. Thanks again to Jenn at Peas and Crayons for hosting!

First up, not an eat, but a drink. I am loving Dunkin Donuts iced coffee lately. I am a iced coffee “newbie” so I’m still unsure exactly how to order it (does it or does it not automatically come with skim milk?), but it usually turns out okay. I’d rather drink an iced coffee later in the day than hot coffee. And every time I go there it’s $0.99! Score!

coffee

My husband was actually the one to research and buy a dehydrator for us. I was skeptical at first. I’ve bought gadgets/small appliances and then never used them. I hate to have things in the cupboards just taking up room. I am happy to report I have been loving our dehydrator! It’s so easy to use. My favorite foods to dehydrate are zucchini, bananas, strawberries, and apples. Dehydrated fruit is so easy to pack up and travel with. I’ve been eating banana and apple chips on their own, in oatmeal, and on top of toast.

2013-08-26 15.00.232013-08-26 20.06.48I have been craving fresh, crisp salads lately. Sometimes I find that I’m thirsty and the water in the veggies helps to quench my thirst (and water does too :)). I love the versatility of salads and I usually just grab whatever veggies are currently in my fridge. Veggies in this salad included grilled and marinated portabella mushrooms, hard boiled egg, cucumber, shredded carrots, sliced almonds, and lots ‘o spinach. I could seriously eat this every night.

2013-08-26 17.48.28

Isn’t it pretty?

I’m always up for trying a new recipe. In the blogosphere overnight oats are very popular. I tried them a while back with blah results. I’ve always been a hot oatmeal kind of girl. Because I was in need of some inspiration in the kitchen and was looking to try something different, I gave overnight oats another shot. I tweaked this recipe from Caffeinated Runner.

Overnight Oats

  • 1/3 cup of oatmeal
  • 1 container Activia Blueberry Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 TB chia seeds
  • 1/2 Clif bar
  • Blueberries
  • Scoop of peanut butter

Combine the oatmeal, yogurt, and chia seeds in a container and let sit overnight. In the morning add blueberries, peanut butter, and top with a crushed Clif bar.

2013-08-27 06.35.55

I used 1/2 cup of oats and it was a little dry. Did it completely change me over to cold oats? Nope, but it wasn’t bad and I’d try some variation of it again. It’s nice to change things up and eat something cold when it’s so hot and humid out right now!

What have you been eating? Any new, easy recipes I should know about? I’ve been stuck in a breakfast rut lately…help please. 🙂 

4 thoughts on “WIAW #2

  1. Pingback: August Foodie Pen Pal Reveal | grab your kicks

Leave a Reply

