August Foodie Pen Pal Reveal

Good morning!  After three packed days at work, I am enjoying having today off!  Nothing better than sipping a cup of coffee, blogging, and catching up on current events with GMA. School starts next Tuesday, so it’s been a busy, busy week.

On a different note, this month I participated in Foodie Pen Pals via The Lean Green Bean. Can’t thank Lindsay enough for putting this program together! It’s great to have the opportunity to connect with others all across the US who share a love for food. I also love getting snail mail and was really excited to see my box on my front porch a couple weeks ago!

I received a box from Kacie, a registered dietitian, who lives in Alabama and sent a box to Elizabeth in Chicago. It was fun to get out and explore my own city and figure out what “special” foods we have here! I mainly sent Elizabeth foods from my Door County trip including Door County dried cherries, Door County coffee, homemade Amish peanut butter, and my favorite Snap Pea Crisps. On the flip side, this is what I received from Kacie!

2013-08-19 12.40.16-2

  • Organic unsweetened applesauce
  • Peanut Butter & Co Bees Knees peanut butter
  • Terra Sweets & Beets chips
  • Clif Crunch granola bar in White Chocolate Macadamia Nut
  • Coffee travel mug with Starbucks Via instant coffee (medium & blonde brews)
  • Barbara’s Snackimals animal crackers
  • Glutino strawberry granola bar

2013-08-19 12.50.46

Kacie sent me an email indicating that she has two kids and these are some of their favorite go-to snacks. Some of the snacks I was familiar with, such as the peanut butter, but most of the snacks were new to me. I ate the Snackimals right away. They reminded me of Teddy Grahams I used to eat as a kid. I used the Clif bars to top my overnight oats that I mentioned in WIAW #2 post. I am a fan of Starbucks Blonde roast, but I have yet to try the instant coffee. I think the packets will be really convenient on the go. I could also keep them at work if I find myself in need of a little pick me up (that never happens, right? :)). I am currently in search mode for a recipe using the organic applesauce.

This was a very successful first time with the Foodie Pen Pals! I’m so glad I could participate and was paired with some great ladies! If you are interested in participating head on over to Lindsay’s blog for all the details!!

I am really looking forward to my last long weekend of the summer! We are headed to my dad’s cottage in northern Wisconsin on Saturday. I will be joining the local running club tomorrow AM for the last long training run (11 miles) before the half marathon next month! Crazy I’m almost at the point to start tapering. Crazy, but exciting! Have a great weekend everyone!

What are you up to on this holiday weekend? Are you doing a long run or starting to taper for the fall races?

The Lean Green Bean

 

Leave a Reply

