WIAW {or all week} 4


Happy Wednesday, half way there my friends. 🙂

Are you “falling into good habits”?? I’m trying over here :). This week I did a pretty good job of not eating the same thing for every breakfast, lunch, and dinner. High five to me!

SIDE/SNACK…I had been making kale chips consistently and then sort of forgot about them. I picked up some kale this week and while I like it in salads, I love making “chips” out of kale. Easy, quick, and they make a great side/snack during the week. I toss them with non-stick butter spray and parmesan cheese, bake in the oven for 10-15 min. at 350 degrees.

kalechipsLUNCH…I try to eat a variety of lunches, but 3/5 usually end up being some version of an avocado, hard boiled egg, spinach, and laughing cow sandwich/wrap/toast. It’s just the perfect combination of protein, fiber, and nutrients. Love it! Sometimes I’ll sprinkle sunflower seeds on top for a little crunch.

lunchDINNER…My favorite dinner this week has been fresh salads. I have been buying a lot more veggies lately (yah!). Salads are great way to use all that fresh produce and create something a little different each night. My favorite greens are spinach and/or kale. Favorite salad add-ins include hard boiled egg, tomatoes, green pepper, sunflower seeds, cucumbers, strawberries, shredded carrots, and feta. I love to make a salad that not only tastes good, but looks pretty. Food definitely tastes better when it’s visually appealing!

salad2MORE SALADS….

salad3Hubby and I went to Uno Chicago Grill on Friday. Before we started eating there, I had only really heard of Uno in relation to their incredibly fattening deep dish pizza. Happy to report they have a lot better options than greasy pizza! We probably go there once every 2-3 months. I love the “small plate appetizers” because you can get two options for dinner. Normally appetizers seem to be just as expense as a regular meal and aren’t items you’d want to eat for a whole meal (i.e., spinach & artichoke dip). Uno has smaller plates of regular menu items, so more variety for this girl! 🙂 I decided on the field of greens with goat cheese and blueberry pomegranate dressing salad AND the eggplant, spinach, feta half pizza on 5 grain crust. I thought both were delicious (never had eggplant on my pizza before), but I especially loved the salad. This salad is also offered in a regular size which I would consider ordering in the future.

salad

pizzaNow that I’m back to work, I’m really trying to meal plan. Last year I would not plan ahead and then we ended up “doing our own thing” for dinner almost every night. I’d rather plan ahead, have ingredients on hand, and be flexible if something changes. It really does make life easier!

menuWe’ll see how long this lasts :).

What was the best thing you ate this week? Anyone make any fall recipes yet?

5 thoughts on “WIAW {or all week} 4

  1. mmmm coconut chicken salad sounds so good!
    i’ve been using pumpkin in quite a lot of things recently – i love winter warming food!

Leave a Reply

