What happened to Misses?

Let’s talk shopping. By “let’s” of course I mean me and I hope you chime in!

Last Friday I went to Kohl’s, one of my favorite stores. I can remember shopping at Kohl’s during my childhood countless times. My mom frequented the place like no other. So, of course, it’s one of my favorite places to shop. They have such good deals! My shopping had a purpose this time, which should, in theory, shorten the amount of time I was there {in theory}. I was on a mission for capri pants that would be appropriate for work (school setting) and compression shorts for running.

Shopping-with-girlfriends

This has NEVER happened happened with my hubby and I 😉

Here’s my dilemma. I’m 26 and still have a hard time finding clothes that fit me well outside of the Juniors department. I’m not about to rock a Hello Kitty or Mickey Mouse sweater to work, so I usually stick to buying shorts and solid tanks/t-shirts in the Juniors department. For classier, work type wear I’ve ventured into the Women’s department the last couple years. But guess what?! Nothing fits me right! I’m 5′ 5” and usually a size 3-5 in Juniors, which puts me in about a 2 in Womens. However, most of the women’s clothes are not flattering to a 26 year old with my body type. I’ve had a really hard time finding work clothes at Kohl’s. Usually shirts are too short or boxy. I wish they catered to all types/sizes for women.

But wait, what about the Misses?? Didn’t there used to be a Misses department at Kohl’s? Is there still? Because I sure can’t tell where it’s located. I’m also realizing that I may need to switch from looking in Women’s to Petites, even though I thought Petites was technically for women 5′ 4” and under.

I did end up finding some great items once I looked hard enough. It finally dawned on me to venture over to the Petites section and what’d ya know? I found the exact same pair of capris I currently love in a different color! Score! And it was on clearance. Double score.

2013-08-30 19.51.41

Simply Vera Wang Petite Capri pants $11.22 after extra %15

I also found the perfect pair of compression shorts for running. I had been debating whether to order a pair on amazon and risk them not fitting/having to return. I just hadn’t gotten around to committing to a certain pair yet. The inseam measurement was also throwing me off, as I wasn’t sure how long of an inseam I needed. I was specifically looking for longer shorts that would come just above the knee so that I wouldn’t have to worry about chaffing. So elated I found this Nike pair! They are perfect for chafe free running!

2013-08-30 19.48.55

Nike Filament Dri-FIT shorts $32.12 after extra %15

Other finds included a pair of shorts (below, Rewind) I found on clearance in the Juniors department. They feel silky and are very comfortable. Another find included a Simply Vera Wang pencil skirt that is made out of the same material as the capri pants I found above. Overall, spent about $65 and received $10 in Kohl’s cash.

2013-08-30 19.51.05

Rewind shorts, $6.12 after %15

I sometimes find I’m still in this “in between” area where the style I’m going for is older than what you find in Juniors, but younger than what you find in Women’s clothes.

I need your help! What stores do you frequent for work wear? 

Have a great Thursday! Weekend is almost here! 🙂

One thought on “What happened to Misses?

Leave a Reply

