I’ll Be Running & Smiling

tumblr_mcb8rvYV051r87fh4

Yah! We made it to Friday! What a long freakin’ week. Sometimes I am seriously jealous of my dog who gets to lay around all day. Although I wouldn’t want to be in a crate all day, I think there would be some definite perks to the life of a pup. Especially a cute one that I shower with kisses all the time.

marathon

We will be heading out of town to Milwaukee today for our 10K run. We got a hotel for tonight since the race starts at 7am tomorrow. This is my first time traveling for a race, so I’m hoping everything goes well (food, sleep, etc). We have to pick up our packets tonight, so we really didn’t have a choice. I’m hoping there’s an expo to check out! The run finishes on the warning track inside Miller Park which is pretty sweet for a couple of Brewer fans like my husband and me!

2013-09-26 17.58.56

2013-09-26 17.59.14

I’ve been participating in some twitter chats lately (something I never thought I’d do!) and look what I won! Designer Whey sponsored the Fit Fluential chat and I was selected to receive a free tshirt! I was thinking they would send an oversized large tshirt, but it’s a M and actually fits me well! Score!

I didn’t take any protein supplements or load up on protein of other artificial forms when training for my half marathon this summer. If anyone has any insight into protein supplements for runners, I’d love to hear it! I know Designer Whey is popular among bloggers, but I’m not sure if it’s something I need. I would consider it if I started lifting weights regularly. Not sure if it’s necessary right now, though some of those protein shakes out in blogland look delicious!!!

My workouts this week have been shorter and less frequent following my half marathon last Sunday. I went to Centergy Tuesday night which felt AMAZING for my hips. On Thursday, I ran at an easy pace for a couple miles and went to Group Core afterwards. My hip is still hurting slightly when I increase my speed, so I’m trying to take it easy. It doesn’t hurt anymore when I’m just walking, so I’ll take that as a good sign. 🙂 Crossing my fingers for the best on the Brewers 10k, but predicting I probably won’t hit a new PR (previous 10K PR: 53:22).

2013-09-14 09.30.54Honestly, I’m just excited and blessed to be able to run this much. I try my best to be a well-rounded runner by incorporating yoga and core with regular running. I’m considering taking up Group Power classes to build more muscle as well. I used to go to Body Pump at my previous gym and enjoyed it. I do mostly body weight strength training right now, but I’d love to commit to weight training regularly and see if my body would change even more. Gettin’ buff over here, errr trying, watch out 🙂

Have a wonderful weekend! Enjoy the weather, take time to breathe, and enjoy the people around you. 

I’ll be running and smiling. 🙂

Have you ever won anything? Do you run and lift weights? Running plans this weekend?

9 thoughts on “I’ll Be Running & Smiling

  1. Love the t-shirt! If you’re getting enough protein from the foods you eat then a protein supplement isn’t necessary. Running and strength training are my regular weekly workouts. Enjoy the run!

  2. I hope the 10K went well! That is a good tough distance but it doesn’t take too much out of you that you can’t recover quickly.
    That is a cool shirt and looks great on you!
    I am one that definitely believes in targeted supplementation and am a huge fan of ALRI HumaPro (I wrote a post about it
    http://www.mavrocatstrength.com/2013/06/08/humapro-protein-powder-review/ ) I had taken different protein powders over many years, but the increased recovery, strength and muscular definition were apparent within less than a week. The results were undeniable.
    And it is vegan and gluten friendly as well!
    I train a lot and eat a lot to recover and I simply find HumaPro a convenient addition to my meals to keep the repair going.
    It is great to take some before bed because over night is when a lot of the repairing process happens.
     
    Great Post!
     
    Chris
    http://www.mavrocatstrength.com
     

Leave a Reply

