Brewers 10K Recap

This past Saturday, hubby and I participated in the Brewers 10k race in Milwaukee, WI. This race was a combined “mini-marathon” and 10k. We signed up for this race first because of the awesome perks (running of the field, Brewers ticket voucher, race medal, tech shirt, beer after the race) and then decided to participate in the Fox Cities Half Marathon (which was the weekend before). There were 6 days between running the half and the 10k, but I took it easy during the week and all went well! Last week I went to Centergy, Core, and ran on the treadmill for a couple miles.

Day before race meal– Dunkin Donuts egg white sandwich & pumpkin iced coffee for the drive down on Friday. I was starving after work and knew it would be a while before we ate dinner. We dropped the furry guy off at our doggy darecare place to board him for the night. I may or may not have shed a tear.

dunkin

We headed right to Miller Park to pick up our race packets (no expo, sadly). We did get to take a sneak a peak of the field while we were there though. I’m always in awe. So cool.

brewers

Night before/morning of race meal- We ate at the restaurant inside our hotel, Jimmy’s Island Grill & Iguana Bar. It had a lot of personality for a hotel restaurant. I loved the caribbean decor in and outside of the place. I ordered the Caribbean Jerk Chicken Salad, which was huge, but tasty. Morning of the race I had a cup of coffee and a banana with peanut butter.

eatsWe left about an hour before the 7am start time, however, because all the traffic for the race was taking the same exit, we ended up waiting for 30 minutes just to exit. I had a slight panic attack that we weren’t going to make it on time, but thankfully, we did. The race organizers also took note of the traffic and delayed the start time of the race by 10 minutes (thank you!). The race was very well organized!

morningThe actual run was much hillier than I was anticipating. I felt good physically right from the start. My hip, which I was concerned about post-half, was not a problem. At about mile 2 we ran right through Miller brewery buildings and you could smell the hops in the air. I wasn’t thinking PR before the race because I ran the half the weekend prior, however, as I neared mile 5 I thought I might be able to break it. I pushed myself as hard as I could at the end, not leaving anything left in the tank. It wasn’t quite enough, though. I finished in 53:38, 16 seconds off of my previous 10K PR. If it wasn’t for those hills, I feel I would’ve hit a new PR. Oh well, next time, right!

My splits:

  • Mile 1 8:22
  • Mile 2 8:17
  • Mile 3 8:25
  • Mile 4 8:50 <—large, gradual hill, not my friend
  • Mile 5 8:48
  • Mile 6 8:41

I finished 168/1766 for total men & women, 70/1235 for women, and 15/244 for women 25-29. I feel really good about where I finished! 🙂

2013-09-28 08.34.49

I have never seen so much food after a race! As we exited the corrals, we were given Air Pops chips, chocolate milk, granola bar, banana, cookie, water, and gatorade. I took most of it, but ended up eating just the banana and drinking water. We also had two drink tickets for beer, but I wasn’t feeling like beer at 8am after a race. It was a nice idea though.

medalOverall, our first “travel to” race was excellent! I have a bit of the post-race blues going on, but I’ll snap out of it. Races are just so much fun to look forward to! And after two in a row, I’m getting a bit spoiled. I’m a goal-oriented type of person and knowing there’s a goal ahead of me tends to push me harder in training. I’m not giving up running after the races this year though. It’s such a different story compared to last year and I truly have made running a part of my life. I couldn’t imagine giving it up now. I’m just going to enjoy running around my neighborhood for now and then, who knows? That’s the exciting part, right?! It could be anything! Because I’ve proven to myself that once I’m committed, there’s no stoppin’ me. 🙂

Do you get the post-race blues? What keeps you going?

One thought on “Brewers 10K Recap

  1. Oh my gosh the puppy tounge distracted me for a second, ADORABLE! But more importantly, great race! Speedy over there!
    And yes I do absolutely get the post-race blues, but I have done training back-to-back since late Winter so I think when this Oct 27 race is over, I’ll be happy to be out of a training session for a little while.

Leave a Reply

