Banana Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Hope everyone’s week is off to a great start! I’m thankful we’re halfway through the week because mine has been super busy with lots of meetings and paperwork. Boo.

We pretty much ran out of everything in our fridge/freezer last week, so my usual oatmeal in the morning was a no-go (i.e., no almond milk). I’m addicted to oatmeal with almond milk, chia seeds, pumpkin butter, and banana. Mmmmmm. With a side of coffee, of course.

2013-10-01 06.27.30Instead, I decided to try making protein pancakes. I like to eat something filling in the morning because I hate hunger pains mid-morning. My therapy schedule is pretty “go, go, go” so I don’t have a lot of time to sit and eat a snack. I try to eat a Kashi chewy or KIND bar at 10, but somedays it’s 11 or 11:30 before I have a chance to eat something.

These pancakes are filling, quick to make, and taste delicious!

2013-09-27 06.26.17

Banana Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 small banana, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup of quick cooking oats
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1 TB chia seeds

Mash the banana and egg together until combined. Mix in oats, chia seeds, and cinnamon. Pour 1/4 cup of batter onto a skillet (medium heat). Wait until bubbles appear, then flip pancake. Sides should be a golden/dark brown.

Makes 2-4 pancakes (depending on how large you like them)

*FODMAP friendly for those of us on a Low-Fodmap diet

Top with anything that floats your boat! I used peanut butter, but you can add nuts, syrup, almond butter, pumpkin butter, greek yogurt, pretty much anything!

Side note…

Hey fellow bloggers, did you know that it’s now October? I’m relatively new to blogging, so I never knew a new month was such a big deal in blogland! Pretty sure almost every post I read yesterday mentioned the month changing. Yes, we know. πŸ™‚ Yes, it’s amazing, but it also means winter is coming and that’s not cool.

I also saw this quote floating around Twitter…hilarious because it’s so true! And I’ll admit I’m one of those girls (just minus the latte and add “coffee”)!

77b519cb6f77d7ffd3c106e9d900dc49

Have a great day friends!Β 

What’s your favorite filling breakfast? Are you in favor of Fall or is it over done on blogs?

5 thoughts on “Banana Cinnamon Protein Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Food to Eat, Food for Thought | grab your kicks

Leave a Reply

