A Goal Without a Timeline is Simply a Dream

Happy Monday! Hope everyone had a great weekend! This week is parent/teacher conferences so I am gearing up for some late nights at school ahead of me. Luckily, I was able to get some much needed rest and relaxation in this weekend!

Friday night hubby and I watched one of our favorites shows- Shark Tank! I love to see what people invent! I’m still trying to come up with some brilliant, innovative idea to get us on the show. I’ll let you know when that happens. 🙂  As we were watching the show, Robert Herjavec said this great quote.

Obviously, the runner in me was screaming, “YES!” because this completely applies to training for any kind of race. I will file this under my motivational running quotes.

Saturday was rainy and dreary here. I started my morning with BTS Group Core, which is a 30 minute class. It’s quick and dirty. Even though I’ve been attending regularly twice a week, it still makes me sore some days! I am definitely feeling it in my glutes today.

2013-10-05 09.30.32Saturday afternoon I hit the mall to do some shopping for my husband’s birthday and our anniversary (both next week, ekk!). I used to go the mall all the time as a teenager, but honestly, I couldn’t stand it. It wasn’t even the holiday season and the mall was packed. People walk way to slow for my liking. I didn’t exactly know what I was looking for too, which made it worse. I ended up heading to two stores and then high tailing it out of there. No thank you. I will stick to my smaller stores rather than the mall from now on.

One of the stores I stopped at was Target. I contemplated getting this Gaiam pressure point massager. Ever since I tried “the stick” at the Fox Cities Marathon expo, I’ve been thinking about picking on of these up. However, I already have a Trigger Point foam roller, so I’m not sure if it’s necessary. I don’t want to be collecting a bunch of exercise equipment that I think is a good idea at the time and then never use it. Although, I think I would use it, so we’ll see. My birthday is coming up….

2013-10-05 14.28.44Murphy has all but destroyed every soft, plush dog toy we’ve gotten him. I know he loves soft toys, so I decided to give it another go and picked him up a soft duck. It had less stuffing than a normal toy, but of course, it didn’t make a difference.

2013-10-05 16.38.33I’ve should have read that smiling face to mean, “I’m about to destroy this toy waa haaa haaa,” because that’s exactly what happened. All that’s left now is the “skin.” Live and learn, right.

I also picked up some fall candy, mostly to bake with. I made oatmeal cookies with the pumpkin spice M&Ms and am planning on using the pumpkin spice kisses in Janae’s Rolo cookie recipe (replacing Rolos with the kisses). The Werther’s caramel apple filled candy I’m planning on just eating. 🙂

2013-10-05 15.45.26Sunday morning I headed to Centergy class for some much needed yoga. I am in love with this class. The instructor is always challenging us to not be comfortable in poses and I really feel a difference in my strength. We do a lot of body weight strength training in the class. I’m finally able to do a standing split, flying warrior, and corpse pose (oh wait, you just lay there for that one ;)).

2013-10-06 07.58.10I had another great run to finish my Sunday off that I will recap tomorrow.

I hope everyone takes some time to invest in their physical and mental health this week. It’s so important! I give you permission to feel good about yourself!

What is your favorite inspirational quote? Anyone have “the stick” or something like it? Is it worth it?

What are you doing this week to invest in yourself?

7 thoughts on “A Goal Without a Timeline is Simply a Dream

  1. My Mom’s dog is the same way with toys that have stuffing! She just annihilates them in a matter of minutes.

    My favorite motivational saying right now is, ‘The only person you should try to be better than, is the person you were yesterday.’ It helps me to remember not to compare myself to others, and also to validate the progress that I am making each day.

  2. Oh my that dog is cute! I only buy the cheap dog toys for my dog, because it only last for about 30 mins. I finally picked up a stick ( the stick) wish I knew Target had some other choices.

Leave a Reply

