Liebster Award & 2nd Anniversary!

Before I started blogging, I religiously read many blogs. I have been inspired and owe much of my dedication to making changes in my life as a result of reading some great blogs. I also love discovering new bloggers and learning more about them! I was nominated for the Liebster Award from two fellow bloggers, Chris at Mavrocat Strength and Hilary at Getting Through Life. Thanks, guys! This award is just for fun and a great way to get to know other bloggers better.

liebster-award

Here’s how it works:

  1. Link back to the person who nominated you.
  2. Answer the 10 questions given to you by your nominator.
  3. Pick 10 bloggers, each with under 200 subscribers, to be nominated for the award.
  4. Come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
  5. Go to their blogs and notify your nominees.

My answers to Hilary’s questions:

1. What is your favorite book or book series, and why?

I am a speech language pathologist (SLP),  currently working in an elementary school. Before I switched to working in the schools, I was an SLP in a skilled nursing facility. At the SNF, I worked primarily with adults with brain injuries, strokes, Alzheimers, dementia, and voice/swallowing disorders. I am fascinated by neurology, even though it is challenging. {I’m getting to my favorite book here :)} I recently read Jan’s Story by Barry Peterson, which detailed Barry’s struggle caring for his wife who is diagnosed with Alzheimers. It was intriguing to hear the caregiver’s perspective of the disease, as I have learned primarily of the medical side. It was also interesting to read of the progression of (global deterioration scale) stages from the perspective of Jan’s husband. The true story tugged at my heart strings and made me think of what I would do if I were in Barry’s place.

2. Why did you begin blogging?
I began blogging to keep myself accountable for my work outs and to blog about things I care about. I read many blogs before I started blogging and I thought of many topics I would like to talk about. I also love reading and connecting with others who have the same goals. It really does make a difference! We’re here to support each other.

3. If you could live anywhere other than your current location, where would it be?I’m happy with living in WI, as I appreciate each season {even you, Mr. Winter}. However, if I could live anywhere it would probably be Florida or California. Someplace warm, by the ocean, and beautiful.

4. Did you have a favorite childhood pet?
I desperately wanted a dog as a child, however, my parents said losing their first dog was too difficult and they didn’t think I would take care of a dog. Therefore, I got the next best thing! A guinea pig! My first guinea pig was named Cinnamon and he lived a whole 3 years. He died from constipation (I had no idea you were supposed to feed guinea pigs timothy hay) one Thanksgiving. I hated cleaning his cage, but I was happy to have a pet.

5. What never fails to make you laugh?
My husband and I have many silly sayings we like to say to each other that most people would not understand. He can always make me laugh no matter what. We also like to repeat lines from some of our favorite shows like Friends, Happy Endings (which was cancelled, sadly), and New Girl (i.e., This is worth three bowls of sweet, sweet meth).

6. Do you have a favorite holiday family tradition?
My favorite family tradition as a child was going to church on Christmas eve and singing Silent Night by candlelight. My hubby and I are still working on developing some of our own family traditions.

7. Do you have any special talents?
Not that I’m aware of.

8. What is your favorite quote or bible verse?
My favorite quote is a running quote, “Every mile earned, never given,” because it really speaks to the dedication and passion runners have. Oh, and “Abs are made in the kitchen.” Reminds me to try to live by the 80/20 rule. Or 50/50….

9. What is your favorite App to use on your phone?
Admittedly, this is kind of lame- but Twitter! I recently discovered Twitter as an avenue to connect with other bloggers. I {obviously} had heard of Twitter, but never understood how it was unique. Now I love it! I’m still getting the hang of hashtagging, but I’m getting better! Facebook just seems sort of boring now.

10. What would you choose as your ‘last meal’?
My mom’s lasagna! She made the best lasagna. I’ll have to search for her recipe, but I’m not sure if she wrote it down. It was so good and something I always looked forward to when I would come home from college.

My nominations in no particular order!

Kristen at Medium Roast

Sara at Loving on the Run

Karen at Runner Girl Eats

Kim at Racing Bananas

Desi at A Northern Girl

Ashley at Chocolate Medals

Jess at Run Jess Run

It’s difficult for new blogs (such as my own) to get their name out there and, likewise, I’ve discovered it’s difficult to find new blogs to read too! The best way to find new blogs is to follow others with similar interests on Twitter and click on links from comments on more popular blogs. If anyone has suggestions of some great new bloggers, let me know!

On a side note- today is our 2nd wedding anniversary! I’m such a lucky lady to have married this guy 2 years ago today. 🙂

wedding

What can I say, we’re a pretty hardcore couple.

Have a wonderful Tuesday! Feel free to answer any of Hilary’s questions above!

9 thoughts on “Liebster Award & 2nd Anniversary!

  1. Thanks for answering my questions!

    I had a guinea pig {Little Booboo} when I was a kid too. I also hated cleaning his cage!

    I love that quote about earning our miles as runners. It’s so true. I love to see my mileage add up as the weeks and months go on.

    P.S. You and your husband look like a fun couple!!

  2. Great answers Nikki! I especially agree about the answer of using our blogs to keep us accountable.
    We write about what we would like to accomplish and then we either DO IT or have to explain why we didn’t : )
    And you are 100% right.. Abs are made in the kitchen! We still need to work our core for strength and to look the way that we want but we won’t see the results without getting lean and that is mostly diet.
    I was curious.. have you thought of getting a dog now as an adult? They are such amazing friends!
    So glad that I nominated you (and you got nominated again : ) ) and got to see your thoughtful answers!

    Chris
    http://www.mavrocatstrength.com

Leave a Reply

