Runner: Powered by Coffee

Let’s start with a confession…I haven’t run in almost a week and it’s bugging the crap out of me.  It’s not that I haven’t been exercising. I’ve done either Core and/or Centergy Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. But I just feel like something’s missing. Hey road, it’s you and me tonight, kapeesh? 

Last night we celebrated our second wedding anniversary. Hubby got me this awesome runner’s mug {powered by coffee} and sent flowers to my work. What a sweetie.

anniversaryWe went out to eat at our “special” anniversary restaurant, Red Lobster. Typically, we go here about 1-2 times a year. I changed up what I usually get and was very satisfied! I used to get the Parrot Bay jumbo shrimp with pina colada sauce and while it’s really good, I like eating something that I can feel good about the next day! I had the maple glazed tilapia with pineapple salsa, steamed broccoli, and vegetable medley. I couldn’t resist a Cheddar Bay biscuit though!

redlobsterToday is my husband’s 27th birthday! It’s crazy to think we’ve spent 6 birthdays together already. He was okay with having our anniversary and his birthday so close together, so I try to make his birthday special!

thennowLooking at the picture on the left makes me cringe a bit. I was definitely not leading a healthy lifestyle at that point in my life (probably 20-30 lbs heavier). That was a picture from homecoming ’08 at college. I don’t miss those days.

2013-10-08 19.10.25Foodwise, my goals lately have been to eat less bread and more veggies. So far, so good! I am packing spinach salads for lunch every day with greek yogurt and either kiwi or an orange. For dinner, I try to incorporate at least some veggies. This dinner was particularly good- sauteed portabella mushrooms, broccoli slaw, mini bell peppers, topped with laughing cow cheese and avocado. Yummy in my tummy (a la Michelle Tanner- for all my fellow Full House fans ;))

greekyogurtpopMy newest food find was this Superfruit Greek Yogurt Drizzlecorn by Popcorn Indiana. I had never heard of it before, but picked up a bag at Sam’s last weekend. It’s by no means “healthy”- the first ingredient is sugar, but it’s tasty (hello, lots o sugar) and different. I like it, but at $6/bag I probably won’t buy it again.

Check out everyone else’s weekly eats at Peas and Crayons!

Have a wonderful day, friends!

Do you and your significant other have a “special” restaurant? What are your food goals like lately? Anyone else a Full House fan?

11 thoughts on “Runner: Powered by Coffee

  1. I went to Red Lobster only once and it was before I even liked seafood so it wasn’t that much of an enjoyable experience, haha. I do remember trying one of those buiscuits though and I liked them! Happy birthday to your hubs!

  2. Oh man, I love(d) Full House Friday nights (Remember TGIF??) My sisters and I still say, ‘Well, pin a rose on your nose.’ when someone deserves it.

    For my diet recently I’ve been trying to watch my carb intake because I was going a little crazy. Some days it’s tougher than others, but I’m doing pretty good.

    • Yes! I loved TGIF!! Ahh I miss it!

      Carbs can be hard to decrease, especially since I never realized how much I was eating! I try to focus on veggies and not think that every lunch has to be a sandwich. I hope it’s going well for you. It takes two weeks to make things a habit, right?

  3. LOVE your food goal!!! That’s pretty much how I live my life– low grains, loads of veggies 🙂 I LOVE to eat, so it works well for me!! My boyfriend & I actually go to TGIF pretty often, lol. Its across the street from our gym & we get lots of free meals there because we’re members, haha 🙂

  4. I just found your blog. I really enjoy it. I think it is awesome you went to UWEC. I did too, but graduated in 2000. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

