Are We Just Spuds on the Run?

tumblr_inline_mq05gxG18X1qz4rgp

This summer I was perusing Groupon and noticed a deal for magazine subscriptions including Runner’s World. As a relatively new runner, I thought it might be a good idea to subscribe and check it out. There are an abundance of running articles on the internet, however, I like the format of a magazine. Overall, I have been happy with their articles.

The August 2013 edition of Runner’s World highlighted the dangers of sitting so much; even going as far as likening it to smoking (read the article here). According to RW’s article, “research shows that outside of regularly scheduled exercise sessions, active people sit as much as couch potatoes- an average of 64 hours per week.” Some of the effects of sitting too much could include a higher risk of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, or depression. Are we really just a bunch of spuds on the run?

Since digesting the information in the article, it has got me thinking about my lifestyle. Yes, I exercise and run consistently during the week, but what about the other 23 hours in a day? Luckily, my therapy schedule at school has me running all around my building. I thought I was doing well with taking lots of steps during my work day. However, I’ve been wearing the “pebble” (type of pedometer) for a month now and I usually average about 3,000 steps at work, which is not enough if my goal is 10,000 steps a day. I also sit while working at my computer or delivering speech therapy.

Always looking for a solution, I thought about what changes I could make, no matter how small, to make an impact on decreasing the amount of time I’m sitting during the day. Here are my “move more” goals:

  • When typing at my computer, I will stand for 1/2 of the time at the counter to type.
  • I will remember to take “brain breaks” for myself and my speech kiddos every 20 minutes (as recommended).
  • If I have a question for a teacher, I will get up and go ask in person. Many times it is a quicker way to handle questions than email or phone call. 
  • I will incorporate more movement in therapy, where appropriate, to get myself and my kids moving more. 
  • I will continue to stay active at night; cleaning around the house, taking walks, running, exercise classes, not sitting for more than 30-60 minutes at a time. 

2013-08-15 09.17.10

I am definitely a believer in the mental benefits from short, physical activity breaks. I’ve thought about getting a stability ball chair, but am not sure if I would like it. If anyone has one, please let me know your thoughts! I’ve also seen that some larger companies are using standing desks, however, that wouldn’t be feasible for me.

Your turn! Are you a spud on the run? How do you incorporate movement into your every day routines? 

3 thoughts on “Are We Just Spuds on the Run?

  1. Hey! I read this article in Runner’s World as well, and I was happy that I am already incorporating a lot of their suggestions in my daily life. I actually wrote a blog post about it last month called “No Running Yet, Just Thoughts”! Check it out 🙂

    http://www.fluffygirlrunningthoughts.blogspot.com

    P.S. I am a fellow Cheesehead! I was born and raised in WI, but moved away when I was 27 when I married a soldier. Someday we will move back because that’s where our families are, but for now–Home is Where the Army Send Us. Our son will be going to college there in 2015, hopefully at UW Madison! GO BADGERS 🙂

Leave a Reply

