Five Fitness Things Friday

Finally Friday! I’m ready for the weekend. You with me?

Here’s what’s new with me on the fitness front lately:

1. I’ve been eating a TON of spinach lately- pretty sure my veins have turned green. I have so much more energy for running/exercising and clearer skin than I used to. Yah for eating clean!

popeye-spinach-shirt

2. My core has gotten noticeably stronger lately. I’m definitely starting to get definition in my abs and I love it. All those planks, supermans, burpees, and squats are worth it!

2013-10-17 16.43.20

3. I missed running!!! As soon as I got on the treadmill yesterday I was ready to GO. I could feel the endorphins immediately and pushed myself as hard as I could for about 2 miles before Group Core started. I’ve never been a huge fan of the treadmill, usually preferring the open road instead. However, I didn’t mind the short run at all. It’s nice to know I won’t be bored out of my mind if I need to use it this winter.  I will get outside for a run long this weekend though and I’m really looking forward to it!

2013-10-17 16.39.50

4. I’m narrowing in on my next race. I’m thinking the Cellcom half marathon in Green Bay on May 18th. I’ve researched a little bit and it sounds like a similar race to the Fox Cities half. The weather may be a toss up, as the last couple years it’s been really hot or really cold. I would love to have a race to look forward to because I push myself more if I’m training for a race. It would be pretty cool to run through Lambeau Field too. Have to follow up running through Miller Park somehow, right?

CGBMLogoBig

5. I’ve noticed such a difference in my energy levels after I work out. I used to have the mindset that I was “too tired” to exercise after work, however, now I look at exercise as an investment in increasing my energy. I’m more awake and alert at night if I’ve exercised during the day. I sleep better and wake up more easily in the mornings. I’ve made running and exercising a habit and I no longer look for excuses not to go. I actually have the opposite reaction now and have difficulties with restlessness if I don’t exercise. Ask my husband- I get a little cranky on rest days. 🙂

2013-10-13 20.49.04

I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend. Take time to breathe & invest in yourself; whether that’s running, group fitness, walking your dog, or taking some “me” time.

What new with your fitness lately?

23 thoughts on “Five Fitness Things Friday

  1. I love the cross training! I’ve been tapering and it’s driving me nuts! I want to go run and run and run 🙂
    I enjoy cross training at the thai boxing gym. I have a trainer and he works me hard and I love it. I’m sore after every workout!
    Thanks!

  2. Love it! And I want definition in my core! It seems like the one place I really struggle to show definition. But that’s probably due to my chocolate obsession. Yup — there are muscles under that always-gonna-be-there tiny layer of fat. And I am OK with that 🙂

  3. It’s amazing how good you feel after a workout! My kids are convinced my insides resemble a garden or forest floor! It may have a little something to do with the amount of spinach, kale and granola I eat LOL

  4. I see you are planning your next move. Good for you. I decided to start back with boot camp (3X/week for 4 weeks) and my personal trainer in a group session (2X/week for 5 weeks) to kick it back up a notch. I am with you, I must cross train. Running is not enough and I am afraid too many distance runs will actually decrease my muscle and I don’t want that. Good luck on your next race and training.

  5. I did Green Bay last year (my first and so far only full marathon) I had a less than desirable experience but I did like the course. Running through Lambeau was really neat. Have you done the Wisconsin Marathon? I did the half 2 years ago and am contemplating doing the full this year. It is also in May.

  6. I totally agree with you on the effect that eating clean has on your skin! Whatever dietary approach you take, if you try to keep out the extra junk and not load up your food with useless calories your skin (your biggest organ) shows its delight by looking great : )
    That is so awesome about getting more definition and strength in your core!! Isn’t that an awesome feeling? Working your core usually hurts, but the results are worth it. Very cool!
    I have a bit of a different experience with energy from working out than you do… if I didn’t work out at all then I would eventually definitely have less general energy.. but on the days when I do workout I don’t think I have more energy than if I didn’t. Some days I am totally beat and am just getting through it. Although I will agree with you that I sleep like a rock! That is a nice benefit : )

    Chris
    http://www.mavrocatstrength.com

Leave a Reply

