Cool Runnings

Happy Monday, friends! I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend and took some “me” time. I know I did!

The weather here in WI has gotten noticeably cooler in the last week. Temps have hovered around 40-50 degrees with upper 30s in the mornings.

2013-10-19 10.13.22

Let me in Mom, it’s cold out here!

It’s been cool runnings around here…and I’m not talking about the movie circa ’93, but fall running!

2013-10-19 09.11.03I’m so glad I’ve invested in some quality cooler weather running gear because it makes my runs much more enjoyable. My favorite new piece of running gear is my Nike Epic Run Tight. They are amazingly comfortable and warmer than my New Balance running tights. I know they’ll keep me warm this winter too. I’m also loving my new Asics headwarmer (similar one here). Headbands are great for letting heat escape through the top of your head, while still keeping your ears warm.

Saturday morning I set out for a 6 mile run. It was a beautiful, crisp fall morning. I haven’t run more than 3 miles since the Brewers 10k at the end of September, so I was really looking forward to it. The fall colors here are mostly passed their peak, but the scenery is still beautiful. I can’t complain at least. 🙂

Oct19After my run we went to our local farmer’s market. I’m really sad that was the last one of the year. We ended up getting a lot of produce for cheap and I’m happy to support local vendors. I bought spaghetti squash (planning on making Skinnytaste’s  Baked Spaghetti Squash and Cheese), green/red peppers, zucchini, and honey crisp apples (for the husband, as I have discovered apples don’t agree with my stomach).

2013-10-19 11.04.03Sunday morning I headed to Centergy (yoga+pilates class I rave about). My gym released the new routine last weekend so I’ve only done it two times so far. It’s very different than the last one and a really good challenge; especially on the “challenge” track where we’re in a squat the entire time- my legs were burning by the end! And I finally got into bird pose!

243_817_376I’m looking forward to the week ahead! I’m hoping to get out for more runs! I signed hubby and myself up for a free clinic on Wednesday to learn about transitioning to winter running and keeping ourselves injury free. Make it a great week! 

How was your run this weekend? Anyone else go to a farmer’s market? What’d you get?

7 thoughts on “Cool Runnings

  1. My city just opened a large Indoor/outdoor farmers market! It’s open a few days a week in the main season, and on Saturdays throughout the entire year. It even has a huge greenhouse on the second floor!

    I just did a couple miles with some speed intervals on Saturday, but it felt good. I’m sore from my strength training on Sunday though. Even when I’m typing I feel the muscles in my upper arms and back. 🙂

    Nice run for you too!

    • I looked up a city close by and they have one all year, so I’ll have to venture a little further each Sat. for some local produce. Sounds like you had some great workouts too! 🙂

  2. Ooooo I want to try spaghetti squash! Sounds like my kind of vegetable 🙂 To be honest, almost all of my groceries come from the local supermarkets, but I should hunt out some sort of farmers market – they are great.

    • I really like spaghetti squash because it takes on whatever flavors you put on it. It’s a great noodle substitute. I’ve only tried it with spaghetti sauce, but I’m going to venture out and try a spaghetti squash bake!

Leave a Reply

