Pumpkin Bagels & Pudding Cakes

Well hi there.

2013-10-20 14.47.06Murphy & I wish you a happy middle of the week! The weather here has gotten noticeably cooler so I subjected Murphy to wearing his cute jacket. He actually doesn’t mind wearing it. I may or may not put it on him just so I can laugh at how cute he looks.

Today is my second favorite link up day, What I Ate Wednesday! (hosted by Jenn at Peas and Crayons). Below are my favorite eats from this week!

Last Saturday, hubby and I went out for dinner at a local eatery, The Kangaroost. The Kangaroost originally started as a food truck and now is a brick and mortar restaurant. They serve “gourmet comfort food with local flair.” You can taste such a difference with local, fresh ingredients. I seriously love this place. I had the Maple Glazed Salmon Salad with Gorgonzola Cheese and Citrus Vinaigrette. Their breakfast is amazing too (try the Happy Bellies oatmeal pancakes)!

2013-10-19 18.13.18Hubby picked up some bagels at Panera to bring to work for his birthday. I managed to sneak in a request for a pumpkin pie bagel for moi. It was really good, which means a lot coming from someone like me who doesn’t eat much bread. I topped it with Laughing Cow Cinnamon Cream cheese wedge and a sprinkle of cinnamon. So good!

2013-10-20 07.18.41A more typical breakfast for me in the morning continues to be oatmeal. I stir in 1 TB of chia seeds, sliced banana, and a scoop of peanut butter. It’s filling and satisfying, especially for these cold mornings lately!

2013-10-22 06.16.14I recently tried the Light & Fit blended greek yogurt. I really like that the flavor is already mixed in. I love the banana cream and orange cream varieties. I usually top the yogurt with sliced almonds.

2013-10-19 15.39.36We’ll end with a dessert because all dinners should be finished with some kind of dessert! Gotta treat ourselves a little too! Last week was our second anniversary and hubby’s birthday. Since it’s just the two of us, I picked up a small cake from a local bakery. I took a chance and selected the Snickers Treat pudding cake. I thought it looked really hard, but it was soft once I cut into it. A small slice was all that was needed though because it’s a pretty rich cake. Hubby liked it and that’s all that mattered!

cakeI’m going to a free running clinic tonight, hoping to get some tips on transitioning to winter running and staying injury free! I’m planning on running outside as long as I can this winter!!!

What’s your favorite kind of birthday cake? Do you have a little dessert every night or a lot of dessert one night? Will you be running outside this winter?

Be social & follow grab your kicks!

Twitter: Grab Your Kicks      Facebook: Grab Your Kicks     Instagram: Grab Your Kicks

17 thoughts on “Pumpkin Bagels & Pudding Cakes

  1. I love Carrot Cake, so if someone is making me a birthday cake then that’s what I ask for! My Mom’s is my favorite, but I’m willing to taste test any ones. 🙂

    I am definitely planning on running outside this winter. I really dislike running on a treadmill longer than a mile or two. I’m starting to train in January with the local running club for an early May race. January, February, and March are Michigan’s coldest months, so I look forward to reading some tips that you learn from the clinic you’re attending.

    • I with you on the carrot cake. My grandma made some last year for Christmas and I ate way too much because it was so good. That’s great about your race! I’m thinking about a May race too to keep up my motivation over the winter. I want to run outside because that’s what I love, but also considering getting a treadmill.

  2. Snickers are my favorite candy to put into cakes, cupcakes, cookies, brownies, anything! The cake looks to die for. I’m not surprised he enjoyed it!

    Laughing Cow Cinnamon? I had no idea that existed, but I need it! My favorite soft cheese mixed with my favorite flavor EVER? Yes, please.

    Just out of curiosity, if WIAW is your second favorite link-up, what is your first?

    As for your question – neither! I eat a LOT of dessert EVERY night 🙂

    • My favorite link up is Marvelous in My Monday because I love recapping workouts…..recapping food is a close second though. 🙂

      I love the Laughing Cow cinnamon cream cheese! It also comes in chive/onion & strawberry cream cheese.

  3. I saw you had on a badger shirt on WIAW post and had to check out where you were from. Quite close to us here in Green Bay.
    As far as getting in miles outside, we too will plan our walks outside as long as we can deal with the cold. Once the ice and snow start, then it’s to the gym:(

    • Very close! I’m hoping to run as long as I can outside, but I’ve also never been a runner in the winter (didn’t run much last year) so we’ll see! I’m also thinking about getting a treadmill.

  4. Chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting! I like dessert every night – usually ice cream. I’m hoping to run outside all winter!

  5. What thought provoking questions! 🙂 I usually will have something sweet MOST nights, but more so a “healthy” sweet rather than a really sugary one! I’m actually not the hugest fan of CAKE though (I’m a freak! I’d rather have me some browniess…mmm!). And I will most absolutely be running outside this winter!
    PS. Try dipping baby carrots in pineapple light and fit Greek yogurt! SO GOOD!

Leave a Reply

