I Heart Squash Season

Happy middle of the week my fellow health & fitness nuts. While most bloggers hold up their kids for photos, I like to hold up my dog. Don’t judge. 🙂

2013-10-27 16.26.20I’m linking up today to What I Ate Wednesday via Jenn at Peas and Crayons. I take back what I said last week, WIAW is my favorite link up!

2013-10-29 06.19.51I’m trying to mix up my breakfasts more, however, I’m pretty stuck on oatmeal. I love how warm it is for these chilly mornings and it never fails to fill me up. I’ve “tried” to mix up my oats by adding Skippy Dark Chocolate peanut butter instead of regular peanut butter (I know, huge change). I definitely have some searching to do for good oatmeal add-ins! Some fruits I can’t add because they’re not low-FODMAP (like apples/pears). I’m thinking of joining in A Dash of Meg’s November breakfast challenge (i.e., different breakfast every morning). I could really use it!

2013-10-27 16.32.37My snacks lately have been fruit filled. I love greek yogurt topped with frozen berries.

spaghettisquashAfter putting off this dinner a couple times last week, I finally made Skinnytaste’s Baked Spaghetti Squash and Cheese. At the last farmer’s market, I picked up two huge spaghetti squash. The bake turned out really well, but I thought it could’ve used more “crunch.” With some of the leftovers I added cut up peppers, more spinach, and sunflower seeds. I love being able to buy local squash and make a great dinner from it. It just makes me feel good to support our local farmers.

2013-10-29 18.25.56Are you sick of seeing my feet yet? I hope not! Better than my sweaty face. I got in a couple miles on the treadmill last night before Group Centergy. Like I’ve said in the past, I’ve obsessed with Centergy. I will never, ever, ever give it up. Never. You can’t make me. 🙂

I hope you have a wonderful day and do something that your future self will thank you for!

What are your favorite oatmeal add-ins? Have you been cooking with any seasonal veggies? Favorite workout this week?

Be social & follow grab your kicks!

Twitter: Grab Your Kicks      Facebook: Grab Your Kicks     Instagram: Grab Your Kicks

11 thoughts on “I Heart Squash Season

  1. Big lover of the squash season over here too. Recently I’ve been trying tons of recipes for soups and spaghetti, all thanks to squash I picked up from a farmer’s market. Thanks for sharing! (And your forzen berries look delish!) – ayoungfoodie.wordpress.com

    • Soup is a really good idea! I haven’t had any for a while, as I want to make my own and haven’t found a good recipe or the time to make it. I have a stay away from beans/garlic/onions on low FODMAP which are in many soups. I’ll keep my eye out for a good squash soup recipe though- that sounds really good!

    • I’d love to try other kinds of squash. I’ve only ventured as far as spaghetti squash because I know it shreds well. I’ll have to look into the other squash types as well though while they’re in season!

  2. I make an Oatmeal bake most Sundays. I always add some type of fruit and nuts, sometimes chocolate chips. Basically whatever I have on hand.

    And I’ve been all over the seasonal produce- Honeycrisp apples and Squash FTW!

Leave a Reply

