Thankful Thursday

thankfulthurs

I think it’s important to take reflection time each day; each week to remember what we’re thankful for. Thanksgiving is approaching which usually spurs these thoughts, but taking small moments throughout the year has value as well.

Relaxation- 

I’ve noticed lately how much my mind races throughout the day. I’m constantly thinking about something that already happened or something that’s going to happen. It’s not too often I take time to live “in the moment” and relax. The last 5 minutes of Centergy class is one of the few moments throughout my week that I just sit and breathe. It is namely referred to as the “restore” track. I never knew how hard it is to not think. I have to picture my mind as a chalkboard and any thought that comes into my head, I simply erase. I am thankful for those 5 minutes to just be.

4Sweat-

I am thankful to be able to sweat. The actual being sweaty part I could do without {obviously}, but I kinda love it when sweat pours down my face. It’s a reminder how much my body is capable of and how much injustice I do my body by sitting during my day. My body was made to MOVE, to WORK, and to SWEAT. I am thankful to finally understand this.

2013-09-28 08.34.49Language-

I found this quote at the beginning of the school year and it sums up how I important I feel my job is.

quote-the-limits-of-my-language-are-the-limits-of-my-mind-all-i-know-is-what-i-have-words-for-ludwig-wittgenstein-355418Who would we be without words to express ourselves? I think about this every day as I treat kiddos with severe cognitive disabilities. I am thankful to have found a job {speech language pathology} I am passionate about. I am thankful for my education, my upbringing, and that I have the opportunity to make a difference; to help kids with such a basic need- to communicate. It kind of gives me chills. 🙂

Produce-

farmersmarketThis summer I frequented the farmer’s market practically every Saturday morning. I am thankful to be able to buy fresh, local produce. It’s not really surprising how much better fresh food tastes and how much better I feel when eating clean. I used to eat a lot of processed foods, not really thinking about what I was putting in my body (i.e., chips, crackers, pretzels). At that time, I didn’t care. I’m much more conscious of what I put in my body now. I want and need to supply my body with nourishing foods to sustain energy for my day and exercise.

30 Days of Thanks Challenge on Diary of a Semi-Health Nut

Think about it-

What are you thankful for this Thursday?

pile-on-the-miles-2013

Pile on the Miles update: 12.5/40 miles

Be social & follow grab your kicks!

Twitter: Grab Your Kicks      Facebook: Grab Your Kicks     Instagram: Grab Your Kicks

8 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

Leave a Reply

