Something Unexpected

Let’s just get this out of the way- yep, that Packer game was quite ugly. My family and I are die hard Packer fans so it’s hard to watch such a mess at home. Crossing my fingers our players get better soon {namely, you, Mr. Rodgers} so we can get more W’s!

Saturday morning started with good intentions, with a 5 ish mile run in mind. I’ve set my goal for this month at 40 miles {part of the Pile on the Miles Challenge via Run Eat Repeat}. Unfortunately, as I got about 4 miles into my run, something very unexpected happened. I felt pain, SHARP pain, on the outside of my left knee. I have never felt pain like this before. Being the resilient runner that I am {albeit stupid after the fact}, I tried to run through it, but surrendered to walking after only a short distance. After some research and my prior knowledge on running injuries, I know it’s my left IT band that’s the problem.

nov9

What went wrong:

  • Didn’t take my own advice about Too Fast, Too Soon, Too Much, Too Often
  • Wanting to complete my monthly goal quickly and not having a set plan, I’ve run too many miles this month
  • I took up my training where I left off after my half marathon in September
  • I ran too fast out of the gate 

My plan is to take a short break from running for 3-5 days, depending on how I feel. I’ve read that IT band syndrome is one of the few injuries that heals well with stretching. I’m planning on some QT with my foam roller, yoga, and core classes. I’m considering adding more weight training to my fitness routine, as I’m sure my lack of hip/glute strength is not helping the cause. I’m not deterred by this– I’m  determined to allow myself to rest and heal so I can get back at ‘er. I’ve had hip pain in the past, which I believe was also caused by my IT band. It’s just never felt like this before. Luckily, I’m not in the mist of training for anything major- just the Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving. Im going to give my body the rest it needs from running, while still continuing other forms of exercise.

I could worry and fret, but I know other runners have endured much worse. Im listening to my body instead {and my hubby who told me —>REST!}. So, no worries that I’m going to make it worse. I had this encouraging fortune this weekend, which I’ll take as a good sign. {by the way, the only sport I do is running :)}

2013-11-09 06.54.40Saturday night, hubby and I went to watch some hockey. I’m not super familiar with the sport, but I love that it’s fast action. We spectated the Green Bay Gamblers and it was a pretty exciting night. I got to “chuck a puck” and watch for flying sticks/pucks. I told my hubby if I suffered a TBI from a flying puck I was going to blame him.

2013-11-09 18.55.19

2013-11-09 18.38.17Before the hockey game, I had my first drink {besides wine} at a restaurant in a LONG time. I’m just not a big drinker, as normally I would rather have water with my meals. But I was feeling a “go for it” night, so a Hot Apple Cider {Goldschlager, Pucker Sour Apple schnapps, apple juice & a cinnamon stick; served warm} was my drink of choice. Just one, but it tasted really good!

hotciderI could tell I drank and ate differently than normal. I felt bloated and gassy most of the night. I wasn’t comfortable, but I’ll take it over stomach pain. Once in a while I can handle a stomach like this, knowing it will subside after a night of sleep. That’s the thing with IBS-C, I just have to wait it out and see how I feel. I knew alcohol and some of the food I ate wasn’t FODMAP friendly, so I was prepared to not feel the best.

Sunday morning, the sun was shining {finally} and hubby and I headed to the gym. Sunday morning Centergy is the best way to start my week. It felt especially good considering my IT band issues.

2013-11-10 07.55.54Hope you had a great weekend and took time to recharge for the week ahead! 

Were you a #WeekendWorkoutWarrior? Have you suffered any running injuries? What did you do to recover? 

Be social & follow grab your kicks!

8 thoughts on “Something Unexpected

  1. My heart broken during the Packers game. It was literally bad from the very first play. It didn’t help that my husband is a die hard Eagles fan. He actually said “I wanted to win – but not this way”. Injuries are killing us. Is it bad that I’m kind of happy Cutler is out again? We can’t afford for the Bears to win.

  2. I know what you are going through! I have many times experienced this, and unfortunately I am going through it right now…..and I am racing my debut marathon at Philly on Sunday. These things ALWAYS happen for a reason, and you will be glad this happened in the long run. I have always run my best races after a setback. You are doing the right thing, making sure to enjoy the other wonderful things life has to offer….will bring balance and will make you realize there is more to life than running. You will come back stronger, and it is just a few days, so you wont lose anything 🙂

    • Thank you, that’s very encouraging! 🙂 Good luck to you this weekend! I hope it doesn’t derail you from your goals. I’m just happy (and kinda surprised actually) this didn’t happen in the mist of training for a race. The weather has been crap here lately too so that helps. 🙂

  3. That Hot Apple Cider looks really good!

    Sorry to hear your experiencing some pain, but good call on giving it a few days rest. It’s so hard to think about NOT running for a little bit but when you contemplate the alternative of getting a more serious injury and what that may mean, it’s really the best choice.

  4. Nikki- this is Trish. I had to reply to this because as you know this past Summer, I struggled with IT band problems and it was a result of too many miles way too quickly so I stopped running for 1 week, did more stretching and never ran 2 days in a row for the rest of the summer and ran 2 half marathons a couple months later without knee pain! I think foam rolling- daily- is key and cross training with another activity- for me it was biking twice weekly. I think that really helped me. Kyle and I will be home this weekend if you guys want to get together at all! Let me know. If you want to go for a short run- I’m always game 🙂

Leave a Reply

