Food to Eat, Food for Thought

sport-keep-fit-inspiration-good-quotes-sayings-picsWhile I’m out of commission from running for a bit, I’ve been enjoying other forms of exercise. Namely, Group Centergy and Group Core, but I’ve been dabbling with starting up Group Power (similar to Body Pump) as well. I’m not ready for the soreness I know will come. At the same time, I kinda like to be sore because it means I worked my butt off! I haven’t weight lifted (besides body weight exercises) because I didn’t want to be too sore to run and throw off my training schedule. Now that there’s no race in my near future, stay tuned- weight lifting may be my next endeavour. 🙂

On the food front, it’s WIAW hosted by Peas and Crayons! The hubs and I ate out a couple times last week.

2013-11-08 17.47.33Friday night we went to Gingerootz, an asian restaurant that I highly recommend. I had spring rolls with peanut dipping sauce and part of an Appleton Roll while hubby had the sesame chicken.

Saturday night before the hockey game we went to Grazis in Green Bay.

2013-11-09 17.46.19I had the jerk chicken salad which was really tasty in the moment. However, it left me feeling not so great so I’m adding it to my “not FODMAP friendly” list {along with apples, watermelon, and onions}.

2013-11-06 18.09.49I’ve been doing my best to include veggies with most meals, especially dinner. One of my favorite dinners is a quinoa bowl made with (you guessed it) quinoa, sauteed veggies, a wedge of laughing cow and topped with feta and sunflower seeds. Sometimes I’ll add spicy chicken sausage which is really good too.

2013-11-12 17.39.44Last night I made Skinnytaste’s Loaded Baked Potato Soup. I don’t have an immersion blender so I wasn’t able to get it as soupy as I would’ve liked. It came out more chunky, but still tasted really good! I added broccoli slaw to it and topped it off with shredded cheese, bacon, and green onion.

pumpkinpancakesI’ve been making strides in eating different breakfasts. My favorite this past week was my banana protein pancakes with pumpkin mixed in. A little extra fiber does the tummy good!

Thanks to Danielle at It’s A Harleyyy Life for tweeting this Low Fat Banana Nut Bread recipe from Skinnytaste! Banana bread sounded so good on Sunday and I just happened to have had ripe bananas on my counter. It’s not a traditional banana bread recipe (some healthier substitutions), but still soooo good.

2013-11-10 14.00.06My food for thought today: I think about what I put in my mouth about 95% of the time. I try to eat my veggies and stay FODMAP free, but life gets in the way sometimes and it’s not always possible. I find it especially difficult when I have to rely on others when eating; for example, if someone else picks a restaurant or during the holidays. My family has been mostly accommodating to my food needs, but I realize it puts a burden on them as well. I struggle with maintaining a balance of not being too rigid and taking risks with some foods to wanting to just eat “safe” foods.

Have a wonderful Wednesday everyone!

Do you like being sore after a workout? Who loves sushi? Best kind of baked bread or muffin?

Be social & follow grab your kicks!

10 thoughts on “Food to Eat, Food for Thought

  1. Now you have me craving bread. I actually found an awesome pumpkin bread recipe earlier today that I want to tweak a little & try out. I’ll have to let you know how it goes.

    Next time I’m in GB (which could be quite sometime Ha Ha), can we please dine @ Grazis? Your salad looks delicious!

  2. Right there with you girl! I just blogged about the same thing in my WIAW post. I’ve had to become gluten, dairy and soy free for health reasons. But sometimes I just don’t want to be left out or feel like a bother! I’m currently doing a sugar detox so now it’s no gluten, dairy, legumes (including soy), and all forms of sugar (no alcohol, stevia, processed foods etc). I know this is for the best. But I feel so bad telling friends I can’t go certain places or I can’t eat their prepared meals at their dinner parties. Oh well. I suppose it will get easier over time.

    Good luck with your Foodmaps experiment! I’ve heard some really great things about it. I’ve given up so much already that I would be sad to give up things like broccoli and avocado, but you have to do what you gotta do 🙂

    • What a coincidence! I definitely hear you on choosing to feel good, rather than feeling like food is “free” and therefore you should eat it. I bypass the cookies and donuts because I know it’s just not worth it. I still feel bad at family gatherings because my family usually makes the same things they always have and aren’t good with change. I’ve had extremely good success with the low FODMAP diet. It’s changed everything for me. I feel so much better than I used to.

  3. I made banana bread last week … a non-healthy version. I did input all the ingredients into MFP to make a recipe and at least get an estimate.

    I’m just a picky eater, I always have been. It isn’t nutritionally or logically based, it just is. My family has learned to adapt to me (or I just don’t eat at times), plus several family members have allergies and celiac’s disease. It does impact social situations, but everyone is always very understanding. It should be even more so when you are trying to eat better for health!

    While I am a cardio girl, I do enjoy my weight workouts. I posted about my full body routine today. No strict program, just my own. Let us know how it goes if you take up weights!

  4. I love banana bread or muffins! I’ve been making muffins more often because it’s easier for me to count the calories that way. I actually just made over 100 mini banana muffins to freeze and have for breakfasts over the next couple weeks. 🙂

    I do like feeling sore after my workouts, but not to the point where getting up and sitting down hurts so much I’d rather just stand there. LOL Like today, when I reach for things I can really feel my triceps and upper back burn a bit from my workout yesterday.

Leave a Reply

