Thankful Thursday: Internal Reflection

thankfulthursAs the holidays approach, I begin my internal reflection on what I am grateful and thankful for this time of year. Yes, of course, I’m thankful for my husband, family, friends, & Murph, but there are a lot of other things I’m thankful for too. I am also taking part in Amanda’s 30 Days of Thanks Challenge. Check out her blog at Diary of a Semi-Health Nut.

I’m thankful to finally be comfortable with myself. For years, I struggled with social anxiety (and still do to some degree), always thinking I had to act and dress a certain way for others to like me. I wasn’t comfortable in my own skin for much of high school. Then college came and I discovered- Hey! If I drink I become this really outgoing, social person! The person I always wanted to be! Unfortunately, it only lowered my self-esteem and made me regret many things in the end (Ahem, where did my phone go? I broke another camera?!). Once I got over the “cool” going out and drinking phase, I discovered that I’m happy with who I am. I’m not a social butterfly….and that’s OK! Now more than ever, I want to do things that make me happy. Life is way too short to be doing things to solely please others.

I’m thankful for my upbringing. I feel very fortunate to have had two parents that truly cared about me. I always thought my mom was overprotective (which she was), but I’m realizing now as I get closer to contemplating parenthood, that those acts were out of love and concern. If my mom was still here today, I’d tell her how happy I am she cared so much. I’d also tell her that one day, when I have my own child, I will be just as overbearing.  Thanks, Mom.

296016_879634873096_1201841277_nI’m thankful to not have succumbed to despair after my mom’s passing. There aren’t checklists for surviving after a loved one has passed. I could’ve been overcome with the devastation of losing such an integral part of my life. I could’ve shut out everyone else and self-medicated. Instead, I chose to lean on my family. I understand that losing her is not something I “get over”. It’s something I accept.

5924_10100442095629206_20546743_n

My dad and I at my mom’s memorial bench outside of the school she worked at.

It was hard to hear the words, “I’m sorry,” after Mom’s passing because all I wanted to yell out of frustration was, “You had nothing to do with it. This isn’t your fault. There’s nothing to be sorry for.” I also hated thinking that others would feel sorry for me. At the same time, I realize there just aren’t words to be said that are appropriate. Honestly, it was those who said nothing that helped the most in our time of need. I’m thankful that though I miss my mom immensely, I haven’t given up on life. It will be difficult to raise my own children without her, something I never envisioned myself doing, but I know I will do it because I had the best “teacher” to learn from. My mom’s jest for life was unlike anyone elses. I’m thankful to have her memory to pass on to my own kids one day.

What are you thankful for today?

30 Days of Thanks Challenge on Diary of a Semi-Health Nut

Be social & follow grab your kicks!

5 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: Internal Reflection

  1. I am thankful for my close relationship with my family even though my husband and I live far away from them! Sometimes I get sad because I don’t see them as much as I would like to, but I’ve recently tried to change my thinking on this and simply be grateful that we talk as much as we do and to cherish the times that I do get to spend with them (which are even more special now because they are so few and far between).

Leave a Reply

